Home People & Power PDP chair: Secondus in a landslide victory ‎

PDP chair: Secondus in a landslide victory ‎

Close ranks to reclaim Oyo, Secondus charges new executive

.Dokpesi congratulates Secondus

Obiora Ifoh and Adekunle Adesoji, Abuja
A former acting national chairman of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, Prince Uche Secondus, has emerged as the new chairman of the party. Secondus floored three other contestants to emerge victorious in a keenly contested election held at the Eagle Square Abuja on Saturday.The chairman of the electoral sub-committee of the convention, and former Governor of Benue State, Gabriel Suswam, while announcing the results, said that Secondus scored a total of 2,000 votes out of the total number of 2,296 votes cast.

He was followed by a former Minister of Education, Prof. Tunde Adeniran, who scored a total of 231 votes, Raymond Dokpesi 66 and Taoheed Adedoja 0 votes respectively. Secondus declaration received a thunderous ovation from his supporters although two other aspirants had earlier raised alarm that the system has been compromised culminating in a walk out staged by Adeniran and his supporters. Dr. Raymond Dokpesi and Prof. Tunde Adeniran had earlier reported that the processes were skewed against them, but in favour of Secondus.

Adeniran, through his spokesperson called for the cancellation of the entire exercise because it has been compromised while Dokpesi opted for the use of the internal mechanism of the party to resolve the issue.But the governor of Ekiti State who defended the Unity list said that there is nothing wrong with aspirants writing down the names of the people they want to vote for and using the list as a guide when casing their vote.The chairman of the National Convention Planning Committee, and governor of Delta state, Dr. Ifeanyi Okowa, while reacting to the issue, said his committee had not officially received any complaints on the conduct of the election.Also, the governor of Akwa Ibom state, Udom Emmanuel, who spoke with the media said the so called Unity list will not materially affect the outcome of the election.“I have not seen any delegate looking at a list before casting their vote and it is practically impossible for delegates to memorise all the 21 names on the list and remember them as they vote,” he said. He added that the list in contention could have emanated from any source because it was not signed.

Despite the protests and complaints, Secondus and all the other elected officials who will form the new National Working Committee (NWC) of the parry were sworn into office immediately after the announcement.A legal practitioner, Tayo Jegede and former governorship candidate for the Ondo state , Prof. Tayo Jegede administered the oath of office.Other officials who will pilot the activities of the party with Uche Secondus are: Deputy National Chairman (South); Yemi Akinwonmi, from Ogun State, Deputy National Chairman (North); Garba Gamawa – Bauchi state.Others are: National Secretary; Ibrahim Tsauri- Katsina state. Deputy National Secretary; Abubakar Mustapha; National Treasurer; Aribisala Adewale- Ekiti State, Deputy National Treasurer; Wada Masu-Kano State. Also elected are: Financial Secretary; Abdullahi Maibasira- Niger State, Deputy Fin. Sec.; Irona Gerald-Imo State, National Organizing Secretary; Austin Akobundu- Abia State and Dep. Nat. Org. Sec.; Hassan Yakubu- Nasarawa State.

For the office of Publicity Secretary is Kola Ologbondiyan- Kogi State, Dep. Nat. Pub. Sec.; Diran Odeyemi- Osun State, National Legal Adviser; Emmanuel Enoidem, Akwa Ibom and Dep. Nat. Leg. Adviser, Ahmed Liman- Sokoto state.Also elected are National Auditor; Adamu Mustapha-Yobe state, Dep. Nat. Auditor; Divine Arong, National Woman Leader; Mariya Waziri-Kebbi state, Dep. Nat. Woman Leader; Hadizat Umoru- Edo state; National Youth Leader; Udeh Okoye-Enugu State and Dep. Nat. Youth Leader; Umar Maina- Adamu.Meanwhile one of the contestants, High Chief Alegho Raymond Dokpesi has congratulated Secondus and other elected members of the National Working Committee.

In a press release, Dokpesi said that the delegates and party have spoken, adding that he will align himself with the peace accord earlier signed by the contestants and allow the party to use its internal mechanism to resolve all the issues.He said, “I write to thank you most wholeheartedly for voting at the just concluded Elective National Convention in Abuja. The delegates have spoken. I congratulate the newly elected Prince Uche Secondus led National Working Committee. “You will recall that I said that the PDP must be the ultimate winner at the end of the contest. God bless the Peoples Democratic Party. Congratulations PDP as i wish all our members the best of luck”.

Adding his voice, the ousted chairman of the party, Senator Ali Modu Sheriff congratulated Dokpesi for putting up a good fight during the contest but expressed disappointment that PDP is yet to learn from its past mistakes.In a statement whose authenticity could not be verified as at the time of filling this report, he wrote, “Alhaji Modu Sheriff congratulates High Chief Raymond A A Dokpesi for a well fought battle to redeem PDP and return it to the people. Regrets that PDP has learnt nothing”.

For a better society

Total Views: 110 ,


Leave a Reply