Home People & Power Convention: PDP to take over power in 2019, says Gov. Okowa

Convention: PDP to take over power in 2019, says Gov. Okowa


The Chairman of Saturday’s Peoples Democratic Party, (PDP) Special Non-Elective National Convention and Governor of Delta State, Senator Ifeanyi Okow,a has said  the party was set to take over power at the national level in 2019.

Governor Okowa, who stated this on Wednesday at the meeting of the Convention Planning Committee at the Party’s National Secretariat, Abuja, affirmed that the convention would prove an acid test for PDP’s readiness for the election.

He said the Party has realised areas they didn’t meet up with the expectations of Nigerians and is now determined to make corrections and provide Nigerians with good governance, anchored on accountability, rule of law and improved welfare of the citizenry.

“Yesterday, we were inaugurated with the task of organising a successful National Convention for our great party, it is our hope that the various committees will set out to work immediately as we have barley few days to go”

“As an organised party, i have confidence in our leaders of the various sub-committees that we will be able to deliver a successful National Convention that we can all be proud of.  I trust in your abilities because I have seen a good number of committed party members who are dedicated to the cause of ensuring we return back to power in 2019,” he said.

Speaking on the preparations for Saturday’s national convention, Okowa said a lot of grounds has already been covered by the National Caretaker Committee, adding that the planning committee only has few days to conclude the arrangement.

“Our party is back alive and with the National Convention, PDP will send a very strong message that will make Nigerians to realise that we are very much ready to take over power come 2019,” he said

Members of the planning committee including Mr. Kelechi Igwe; John Jonah, Deputy Governors of Ebonyi and Bayelsa States and Chairmen, Deputy Chairmen, Secretaries and Deputy Secretaries of all the Sub-Committees attended the meeting.

Meanwhile, the Disciplinary committee of the PDP was sworn-in yesterday and to urged to commence work. Disciplinary committee has seven members, including Chief Tom Ikimi (Chairman), Rt. Hon. Austin Opara, Chief Onyema Ugochukwu, Mr. Victor Kwom, Hajia Inna Ciroma, Col. Bala Mande and Eyitayo Jegede.

For a better society.



Leave a Reply