Home Business & Economy CIBN confers fellowship on Emefiele

CIBN confers fellowship on Emefiele


Governor of Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) Mr. Godwin Emefiele has bagged the prestigious Honorary Fellowship award of the Chartered Institute of Bankers of Nigeria (CIBN).
The award came few weeks after he was conferred with the national honours award of Commander of the Order of the Niger (CON) by President Goodluck Jonathan.
Speaking at the investiture ceremony held at the Federal Palace Hotel, the President and Chairman of Council of the Institute, Otunba (Mrs.) ‘Debola Osibogun noted that the recipients were being honoured in recognition of their  contributions to the development of the banking industry and the Nigerian economy in general.
She charged the awardees to note that their elevation to the status of Fellows and Senior Members of the Institute imposes on them the additional responsibilities to further contribute to the overall development of the banking and finance industry.
In his remarks, the CBN Governor, Emefiele, thanked the Institute for finding him and the other honorees worthy of the awards.  “This award serves to bolster my determination at the Central Bank to ensure that the banking system in Nigeria is not only sound, but also driven by high standards of corporate governance and professional ethics,” he added.
Also honoured at the event was the Director of Banking Supervision Department, Mrs. Agnes Tokunbo Martins who was recognized as an Honorary Senior Member.  Other members of staff who were equally honoured at the ceremony, either as elected fellows or as Senior Members, were Muni. Afemikhe, Odunola Aikomo, Olubunmi Ayodele, Tajudeen Ogunwolu, Margaret Ogundana, Angela Sere-Ejembi, and Adebanjo Owoaje.
Among other awardees were Mr. Nnamdi Okonkwo, Mr. Emeka Emuwa, and Mr. Ifie Sekibo who are the Managing Directors of Fidelity Bank Plc, Union Bank of Nigeria Plc, and Heritage Bank Limited, respectively.

Total Views: 408 ,


Leave a Reply